IS 5568 | Digital Accessibility Standards

IS 5568 (Israeli Standard)

Israeli Standard 5568 is Israel’s web accessibility standard. It follows WCAG 2.0 Level AA.

Who has to comply?

Anyone who provides a service to the general public must conform to IS 5568. This includes governmental organizations, private organizations, and non-profit organizations; all were required to be in compliance by November 2018.

What happens if I don’t comply? And who enforces it?

Sanctions for violations of IS 5568 are laid out under the Equal Rights for Persons with Disabilities Law, 5758-1998, and include fines. The standard and laws governing it are enforced by the Israeli Ministry of Justice.

What do I have to do to comply?

To comply with IS 5568, your website, digital documents, or application must meet the IS 5568 Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Level AA, which is identical to the W3C Organization’s WCAG 2.0 Level AA.

ABILITY™ | Advancing Digital Accessibility

Proud Member of

W3C Member icon
World Wide Web Consortium
The member icon for the IAAP, the International Association of Accessibility Professionals